Power Oatmeal


I told a friend the other day that I was trying out a yoga streaming site I found on Gwenyth Paltrow’s blog, Goop.

“Does it require you to buy a gold plated yoga mat?” she quipped.

It’s a fair point. Paltrow has a reputation for catering to the one percent. Goop is filled with beautiful things that I can’t imagine affording. And she’s been accused of pandering to the masses before. A few years ago an article came out claiming that following her recipes would cost a family $300 a day.

But that doesn’t mean she doesn’t have worth. (And for the record, that $300 a day figure doesn’t add up.) I’ve had her book, It’s All Good, recommended to me a few times by people who I know watch their grocery budget. And when I was looking through her book I could see why. There’s an emphasis on whole foods, simply prepared that appeals to me. While flipping through the copy I took out from the library I found some inspiration.

Like this oatmeal. I think breakfast is wonderful, but I’m much more likely to eat toast with peanut butter most mornings than whip something up while still half asleep. But I work some crazy long hours on weekends,without promised meal breaks (see here) and I need something with sustenance to stay on my feet. I’ve started making this oatmeal during the week and microwaving it for breakfast.

The textural difference is key here, I think. The rolled oats meld into a custard, where the steel cut oats (or barley, if you’re feeling adventurous) soften but stay close to al dente. It’s filled with fiber, which keeps me full and kicking for hours. I love it topped with maple syrup and walnuts, but the possibilities are endless.

It’s a simple, satisfying breakfast from a slightly surprising source. If you try it, I’d love to how you top it.

Power Oatmeal

Adapted from It’s All Good by Gwenyth Paltrow

To make this oatmeal a la GP, replace the steel cut oats with rolled barley, and replace replace the liquid with 3/4 cup almond milk and 3/4 water. She also tops her oatmeal with flax and sesame seeds. If you’d like to make breakfast ahead of time, this doubles well.

1/4 cup steel cut oats
1/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup whole milk
1 cup water
pinch salt

to serve:
maple syrup
chopped walnuts

In a saucepan combine both oats, the milk, the water, and salt. Bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer. Simmer, stirring every so often, until the liquid has reduced and the oats are tender, about twenty minutes. The whole thing should be custardy in texture.

To serve, drizzle with maple syrup and sprinkle with chopped walnuts.

Standard

2 thoughts on “ Power Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

