Strawberry Salsa

Strawberry Salsa 3

Aaron went strawberry picking last weekend and came home with almost ten pounds of strawberries. Being the loving and supportive spouse that I am I did not fake-but-for-real complain that I didn’t get to go strawberry picking. No, I would never do that. I may have pestered him for details so I could live an idyllic morning in the strawberry fields vicariously through him. It’s possible I cursed the existence of brunch, which made it impossible for me to join him. I definitely did started to dream of way to use up all of the strawberries. Because that’s what loving and supportive spouses do.

Ten pounds of strawberries is a lot of berries. Our refrigerator is full of fruit that will last maybe a week. The first day I made waffles for breakfast and topped the waffles with peanut butter and strawberries. I was as generous as felt reasonable and discovered I had used a whole handful. For lunch that day I made a barley and arugula salad strewn with an indecent amount of strawberries. I still had eight pounds of berries waiting to be used, and only so many snack times left. It was time to get serious.

Enter strawberry salsa. It’s sweet but not sugary, punchy but not overly aggressive. The lime juice and salt bring out the more savory notes of the sweet, floral strawberry and the tomato and peppers ground the whole mess firmly in the salsa category. It’s a good, mild-ish salsa for people whose tastebuds aren’t ready for intense spice (Aaron) or who aren’t quite sure the nuances of many peppers (me). The night I made this salsa we had black bean nachos for dinner and doused the chips in excessive amounts strawberry salsa while watching Parks and Recreation on Netflix. The salsa brought a clean freshness to the nachos. Incidentally, the strawberry salsa made it very easy for me to justify having nachos for dinner. I would argue that’s one of the best ways to experience this salsa, but you don’t need to take my word for it. This would be excellent in all sorts of dishes, from tacos to baked potatoes (yes, really, with sour cream and lots of green onions) but it’s also eminently snackable on its own with tortilla chips.

Now to use up the remaining five pounds of berries…

Strawberry Salsa

If you want a spicy salsa, I would up the jalapeños. If you’d like a milder salsa, remove the seeds from the jalapeños. As it’s written here this salsa is mild with a (small) bit of a kick.

Makes 4 cups of salsa

1 pound (4 cups) strawberries, hulled and diced
1 medium tomato, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 bunch of green onions, sliced (3/4 cup)
1 small bunch, or 1/2 large bunch cilantro, chopped (1/2 cup)
1 jalapeño, diced
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
3 tablespoons of lime juice, or about 1 1/2 limes

In a large bowl stir together the strawberries, tomato, bell pepper, green onions, cilantro, jalapeño, salt, pepper, and lime juice. Taste for seasonings, and add more salt, pepper, and lime juice as necessary. Let it sit for at least 15 minutes for all the flavors to meld together. Eat on everything.

 

(Strawberry pictures are from Aaron’s strawberry picking adventure, courtesy of Aaron)

Standard

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Salsa

Leave a Reply

