Some Favorite Healthy(-ish) Recipes for January

Happy 2017! Do you make resolutions? I’m obsessed with resolutions. This year’s include to be better at responding to text messages, to not use my phone in bed, and to do the splits. I’m also hoping to to try out different techniques and flavors in cooking and work more on my photography.

Maybe you’ve resolved to eat better in this coming year, or perhaps you just want a bit of a reset after an intense holiday season. Either way, or if you just want to eat tasty food, I’ve got you covered- here are some of my favorite “healthy” recipes from the past year and a half of blogging.

I put healthy in quotes, because it’s a loaded term and a subjective one. I’m not a doctor or a dietician. I’m a cook. I like butter and bread and cheese and chocolate. And I like lots of vegetables and legumes. These recipes prioritize ingredients that are both nutrient dense and hearty. In my mind, there’s little that’s worse than an unsatisfying “healthy” meal, weather it’s not filling or not delicious.

I think these recipes meet all the criteria. I hope you agree.

dsc_0148

Delicata Squash and Kale Salad with Maple Vinaigrette
Gluten-free, Easily Vegan
If you’re going to start of New Year’s with a kale salad, I would strongly recommend it be this one. Crisp radishes, toasted walnuts, earthy kale, and roast squash are all tossed in a maple syrup-shallot vinaigrette and topped with salty pecorino. It’s like if winter’s bounty reached up to give you a hug. I’m not allowed at Thanksgiving celebrations without this salad.

dsc_0778
White Beans, Fennel, and Tomato Stew
Gluten-free, Easily Vegan
A recipe from Anna Jones, one of my favorite cookbook authors, that’s tangy and sweet and herbal and savory all at the same time. It’s also filled with all sorts of good stuff. It’s amazing on it’s own, but just the kind of dish I want to drag a piece of bread through to soak up all the amazing juices.

dsc_0109

Carrot and Coconut Dal
Vegan, Gluten-free
Some vegan friends of mine claim this is the best soup they’ve ever had. With coconut milk, cilantro, red lentils, and a healthy dose of turmeric, I’m not going to say that they’re wrong.

IMG_4175

Kale Stuffed Double Baked Potatoes
Gluten-free
These are killer. Kale, shallots, goat cheese, and a heady dose of smoked paprika help the double baked potato grow up. These are my favorite way to consume the unfairly maligned potato.

Lemon Lentil Soup

Smooth Lentil Lemon Soup
Gluten-free, Easily Vegan
If there were ever a lentil soup to shake off the hippie coffee shop vibe it would be this one. Gently spiced and elegant, this smooth lentil soup would be at home in a chic bistro or your dinner party. That it’s easy, nutrient dense, and relies on pantry staples is a bonus.

IMG_3909-0

Lentil Bolognese
Vegetarian, Easily Gluten-free
Rich, hearty, and sophisticated, this lentil bolognese is one of my favorite creations. Do yourself a favor and make a double batch, then freeze half. You’ll be grateful you did.

IMG_4009

A Winter Ribollita
Vegan
Swiss chard, sweet potato, and orange add a wintery spin to this traditional soup made of stale bread. This is a hearty and satisfying meal, the type I like to eat all winter. I love that it’s nutrient dense, but unlike some “healthy” meals I’ve had in the past it fills me up and keeps me going for hours.

Tacos 3

Black Bean Tacos with Mango Salsa
Gluten-Free, Easily Vegan
Aaron is obsessed with tacos, and these are among his favorites. It’s easy to see why- black beans are cooked in lime juice, cumin, and cilantro, then placed in a tortilla, topped with a zippy mango salsa, lettuce, and cotija. And start to finish, they take 20 minutes.

Kale Caesar

Kale Caesar Salad with Sourdough Croutons
Vegetarian
My version of a healthy lifestyle includes kale. It also includes bread and cheese. This salad has all three and the best vegetarian Caesar dressing I’ve ever had. (Warning: post also includes an extended -let’s say conversation- on healthy food.)

dsc_0655
Creamed Lentils with Tomato Paste and Ginger
Gluten-free
Healthy doesn’t have to mean deprivation and lentils don’t have to be boring. These lentils are cooked with a generous amount of spices, then finished with the right amount of cream and butter. It’s as luxurious as lentils can get, which is to say very.

Happy cooking! I’ll see you soon with a proper recipe.

Standard

Leave a Reply

